This is the "Home" page of the "UpToDate Tips Sheet" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UpToDate Tips Sheet   Tags: databases, uptodate, uptodate_tips  

FAQ's about searching UpToDate
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2013 URL: http://kcumb.libguides.com/content.php?pid=249062 Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

UpToDate Mobile

UpToDate Mobile - The UpToDate website is optimized for mobile access. When you enter the link from a mobile device, it is automatically detected that you are accessing UpToDate from a mobile device, and the view is optimized to enhance your experience. There is an iPhone App available for individual subscribers at the iTunes store, but this is not available with institutional subscriptions.

UpToDate Mobile Web Access

Here are some features of Mobile Access via the Web Browser:

  • 9000+ Physician topices
  • 5000+ Drug topics
  • What's new
  • Patient Information
  • Abstracts
  • Graphics/tables/images/figures
  • CME credit accrual
  • Mobile-optimized interface which includes content wrapping and rotation
 

Citing an UpToDate Topic Review

Cite the UpToDate topic as a chapter in a book titled, UpToDate, edited by Denise S. Basow, published by UpToDate in Waltham, MA. There are no page numbers to cite. Since UpToDate is continuously updated, each topic will appear (i.e., be published) in each new release, so the publication year for any topic should be the current year.

For example:

Marion, DW. Diaphragmatic pacing. In: UpToDate, Basow, DS (Ed), UpToDate, Waltham, MA, 2011.

 

UpToDate


UpToDate is the largest clinical community in the world dedicated to synthesizing knowledge for clinicians and patients. Over 4,400 expert clinicians function as authors, editors and peer reviewers, and over 400,000 users provide feedback and questions to the editorial group. UpToDate covers over 8,500 topics in 17 medical specialties and includes more than 97,000 pages of text and graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 385,000 references and a drug database. Physician editors and authors review and update content continuously. An updated version of UpToDate is released every four months.

You can access UpToDate via the D'Angelo Library's website through the link at the Databases tab. If you are working off-campus, you will need to enter your Library barcode/password for authentication.

Search Tips

To search for information in UpToDate:

1. In the search box, type a search phrase consisting of one or more terms. After you enter three characters, UpToDate displays a list of possible matches for your entry by recognizing common synonyms, abbreviations, acronyms and word roots. Capitalization is not important.

2. Click on an item from the list of possible matches to search for results for that item.

Note: At any search box, as you begin entering a search expression, your recent searches will be displayed at the top as you type. You can select the recent search to see the results, or you can prevent this recent search from displaying again by clicking remove.

Or, type all of the characters for your desired search phrase and then click Search.

3. Using the dropdown to the right of the search term, select one of the facets: All topics, Adult, Pediatric, Patient or Graphics. The search results will prioritize search results for All Topics, Adult, Pediatric or Patient results. For Graphics, only graphics are displayed.

4. On the Search Results page, do either of the following:

  • Click on the title of a topic to display that topic.
  • Position the mouse pointer over a topic title to display the topic outline for that topic, then click on a heading in the outline to directly access the related section of the topic.
      
     

    More Tips

    • Click on New Search to search again.
    • Click on the What's New tab to read summaries of the latest major medical findings within each specialty.
    • Click on the Patient Info tab to access a list of available topics for downloading for patients.
    • Click on Help to access an online tutorial and a User Manual. Within the User Manual there is a section on Searching in UpToDate.
    • Graphics in UpToDate are denoted by phrases such as "show figure". You can access any graphic by clicking on these links. Graphics included in a topic review are also listed at the bottom of the topic outline.
    • Click on a drug name in a topic review to access usual dosage, adverse reactions and more. You can also search for a drug name by typing it into the New Search box.  
    • To export, you can use either the Print or E-mail function.
     

    Graphics Search

    Quickly and easily search high-quality graphics from UpToDate including more than 25,000 pictures, tables, illustrations, diagrams, graphs, algorithms and videos, without using a separate search engine.

    After searching a clinical term, select “Graphics” from the menu in the left navigation. For even faster access, select “Graphics” from the dropdown menu in the Search box. With either approach, the resulting graphics appear in thumbnail format. Clicking a thumbnail opens a larger version of the graphic.

    Each graphic references and links to related UpToDate topics under “Appears in Topics.” And from within an UpToDate topic, you can see all corresponding graphics.

    Watch a brief video demonstration to learn more about conducting a Graphics Search, sharing information with patients or colleagues, and exporting graphics to a presentation at: www.uptodate.com/help/demo/web/conducting-a-graphics-search.

    Digital Services/Reference Librarian/Instructor

    Profile Image
    Lori Fitterling M.L.S.
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip